Owley McPillowpants By Laurie

So a while ago I made myself an Owley McPillowpants from the Small Stash Sewing book. He was so fun and easy to make I decided to make another for my niece’s 2nd Birthday and one for Mother’s day. I think next time I will do and Owley McSmartypants and put a tie on him.

image (11)

How cute is the little girl on the cover?

They can be made in a number of colour combinations and are made up of 5/6 different fabrics (mainly fat quarters but a few scraps)

So, here is how I got on.

1. The first stage is to pick your fabrics. This is uasually the hardest part for me. For my niece I chose bright polka dots and mum had a beautiful fat quarter bundle which lent itself to this project so well I couldn’t not use it.

image (10)

2. Then you cut out all your different pieces.

I love the rotary cutter

I love the rotary cutter

image (17)image (7)

3. the next stage is to sew your bias binding the the curved edge of each wing. I hate sewing bias, especially on a curve 😦

image (14)image (13)

4. Now we need to pin our wings to the body section and sew 3 feathers onto each one. Once this is done we slit the middle of each feather using a seam ripper.

image (2)image (15)IMG_3722

5. Now we need to pin and sew the neck piece to the top of the wings and body. Then we pin and sew the head to the top of the neck.

image (16)image (8)

6. This next step is important to do now, I made the mistake of doing it last once and it becomes very tricky. We sew on his eyes and beak.

7. Now we prepare the tail and ears. Firstly sew the seams with fabric right sides together. Turn right side out and press. Insert wadding and quilt a zig-zag pattern to hold the wadding in place.

image (12)image (9)

8. Now we need to pin the backing and front, insuring to place the ears and tail. Sew ensuring you leave a gap to stuff.

9. Turn right side out and press. Stuff with a pillow and sew up the gap. For mums I decided to do and envelope back (because I was being lazy) Bob’s uyour uncle, you have an Owley McPillowpants.

Me and mums Owly having a nice moment

Me and mums Owly having a nice moment

My very own Owley
My very own Owley

20130316-055758 PM.jpg

About Craft Hill Fabric Artisans

Hi, we are a mother and daughter tea drinking, tattoo wearing duo of crafters. Every Wednesday evening we get together and make beautiful things for friends, family and sometimes ourselves. Helped along the way by sometime models & general pests Izzy the Border Terrier & Archie the Patterdale terrier (spot them in our pic's) We are both living in beautiful Devon but grew up in Norfolk. We call ourselves Fabric Artisans & this has come down through five generations of seamstresses, needle women & crafters of all things fabric.
This entry was posted in baby gifts, craft, fabric, fat quarters, gifts, hand sewn, handmade, machine sewn, Owley McPillowpants, patchwork, printed fabric, Rowan fabrics, sewing, soft furnishings, stash busting, stuffed toys, toy making and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Owley McPillowpants By Laurie

  1. amazing apron and owls! LOVE IT! (I must do both an apron and an owl soon, lol!)

Leave a Reply

